Bridge Street, Sturminster Newton, Dorset, DT10 1BZ

Image Alt

The Governors

Welcome to the Governors section of the website.

The governing body currently consists of the following members:

Russell Field

Staff Governor

Term of Office: 26/03/2021 to 25/03/2025 (Fifth Term)

Maria Dixon-Amphlett

Local Authority Governor 

Term of Office:20/03/2023 to 19/03/2027 (Fourth term, formerly Parent Governor)

Christopher Jones

Chair of Governors

Parent Governor

Term of Office: 28/09/2021 to 27/09/2025

Rachel Barbet

Former Co-Opted Governor

Term of Office: 20/03/2023 to 12/03/2024 (resigned)

Gilford Sweetenham

Parent Governor

Term of Office: 23/11/2020 to 22/11/2024

Catherine Dunkley-Jones

Clerk to the Governors

Appointed: 09/09/2013

Annabel Smith

Co-opted Governor and Chair of the Curriculum Committee

Term of Office: 27/01/2020 to 26/01/2024

Karen Wrixon


Appointed 01/09/2014

Yvonne Pitman

Co-Opted Governor

Term of Office: 20/03/2023 to 19/03/2027) (first term)

Emma Smith

Parent Governor

Term of Office: 10/05/2023 to 09/05/2027

We currently have vacancies for one parent governor and two co-opted governors. Please contact the clerk via the school office if you would like to join us.

Janine Wagner-Hale

Former Parent Governor

Term of Office: 15/06/2020 to 19/02/2024

Our Governing Body’s remit is to:


      • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for the school
      • Hold the headteacher and senior leadership team to account for the educational performance of the schools and their pupils and the performance management of staff
      • Oversee the financial performance of the school; ensuring funding is well spent

Monitoring and evaluating the school’s performance and success play a significant role for our Governing Body. We have a detailed monitoring schedule linked to the school’s Raising Attainment Plan. These visits ensure governors have a thorough understanding of the life and workings of the schools and are to both support and challenge the senior leadership team.


The Appointment of Governors


Our governors are drawn from parents and carers, the wider community and school staff and are appointed for a four-year term of office. Co-opted governors are appointed, based on their skill set, by the Governing Body; parents and carers elect parent governors, and staff governors are elected by school staff. We also have one governor who is appointed by the Local Authority.


Governor Vacancies


If you are interested in being a governor at our school, please contact the Clerk to Governors in the first instance:

The links below provide information about the governor role. We currently have one parent governor vacancy and one co-opted governor vacancy and would be pleased to hear from anyone who would like to learn more about how they might contribute to our school’s continued success as a governor, especially those from outside the immediate school community.


To contact the Chair of Governors, please write care of the school address which is


William Barnes Primary School, Bridge Street, Sturminster Newton, DT10 1BZ Unchanged: William Barnes Primary School, Bridge Street, Sturminster Newton, DT10 1BZ


Please find links below for recent minutes of the school’s governing body meetings and other governor-related information.